Relocating to Glasgow- Best Secondary School?

(19 Posts)
nightdances Sat 31-Aug-13 09:59:11

Hello!

My son and I are relocating from Northumberland to Glasgow to live with my partner who's from Lanarkshire.

My partner currently lives in the Lanarkshire countryside, but we are going to move to the city because I don't drive and I'm a therapist which requires me to see clients at home.

My son is 10 and has attended excellent schools in Northumberland, but he hasn't found any of them easy (even though they have both been Ofsted 100 rated) because he's very sensitive and has had trouble with being bullied.

I've read some horror stories about Glasgow schools and I'd be very grateful if any of you could debunk some of these myths!

I've been looking at Jordanhill which looks fabulous but is apparently tough to get in to, does anyone have any idea what the catchment area is like? Is it far from the city centre? Do I have a hope of getting him in there?

Any advice on Glasgow Schools and general relocation tips very welcome!

Thank you :-)

I'd think about somewhere on the outskirts - Bearsden, Lenzie etc. Glasgow secondary schools get an unfair press; most of them have a lot of children with real issues - poverty, asylum seekers etc - and while they're not the best academically, they do provide a nurturing, caring environment on the whole, and in my experience, the teachers are excellent and committed.

Jordanhill is to the west of the city centre, and those that go, seem to like it. The catchment area is small, and it may already be full for your son's age group.

nightdances Sat 31-Aug-13 10:15:37

Thanks AP! I will check out those areas. My partner is a very well known Scottish musician so I'm hoping that would work in our favour when applying to Jordanhill, these things sometimes do!

lotsofcheese Sat 31-Aug-13 10:20:47

You could also think about East Renfrewshire secondary schools eg Williamwood, Mearns Castle, Eastwood High.

VegasIsBest Sat 31-Aug-13 10:21:42