GCSE options - History

(29 Posts)
toomuchmud Wed 20-Mar-13 18:17:23

I thought we had our daughter's GCSE options pretty much sorted out until tonight's parents evening. She wants to take GCSE History but is currently only working at a low Level 6. The history teacher we saw did a lot of teeth sucking and although didn't say an outright no her taking it as an option I think he was trying to put her off. He said that it is a very difficult GCSE and she should really be working at a higher level at this stage in order to get a good grade at GCSE. She isn't really interested in the alternatives offered - so we are a bit stuck. Anyone got an idea of whether a low Level 6 would be good enough or should we forget History?

mindgone Wed 27-Mar-13 00:28:01

My Y11 DS is really enjoying history, but it does seem to be a hard subject to get good grades in.

MiniSis Mon 25-Mar-13 22:44:27

Wow! I can believe the teacher is trying to put her off!! I'm a history teacher and many of my students that have chosen history are just a level 4 (this is year 8 however) the gcse spec advises entry level of L3 or above. This opens the course up for almost everyone, however not everyone finds it easy!

There are source questions on all units and controlled assessment and it is down to him to teach his students how to analyse sources at gcse level.

Tell your daughter she must go for it! I'd give an arm and a leg to have had a class full of L6s last year smile

out2lunch Sat 23-Mar-13 17:54:21

your dd should go for it if she loves the subject both of my dcs studied history for gcse and enjoyed it

Coconutty Costa Rica Sat 23-Mar-13 17:54:06

I know lots of year 10s who are really not enjoying history at all. What other options has she got?

BackforGood Sat 23-Mar-13 17:49:30

Corthrall - sounds like you've led an interesting life grin

elliepac Sat 23-Mar-13 17:33:41