Characterists of great scientists

(10 Posts)
sciencelover Wed 06-Mar-13 16:58:17

What characteristics do you think are most important in becoming a scientist?

Here are some of the ones I think are important:
1. The ability to be open minded about possibilities. Commonly held views in science are typically correct, but they aren't always.
2. Dedication and obsession. Those who devote their lives to science to the exclusion of all else typically make it further in the field. Unfortunately, this trait can make some scientists horrible at marriage and relationships (though certainly not all).
3. Curiosity.
4. Honesty in your work. Nothing will destroy your credibility and career more quickly than falsified results.

doyouwantfrieswiththat Wed 06-Mar-13 21:52:13

definitely curiosity
tenacity
discipline (my weakness)
creativity
anal retentiveness
I studied science because I like knowing how things work, and unlike other subjects it seemed to have objective answers. But now that seems too simplistic.

I'm not sure I'm disciplined enough in my approach to call myself a scientist without feeling a bit of a fraud.

sciencelover Wed 06-Mar-13 22:22:45

Oops, just realized I made a spelling mistake in my title!

I feel a bit of a fraud calling myself a scientist at times. I'd like 5 more years of education and a PhD. Discipline is also one of my weaknesses.

I studied science for the same reason. Trying to make the best program/computer/digital camera/business sounds less fun than trying to understand how the universe works. Unfortunately, it's not easy to make a living trying to understand how the universe works.

doyouwantfrieswiththat Wed 06-Mar-13 22:40:57

Ah yes, monetary appreciation. One HR numpty told me salary was not a motivating factor for scientists.

That's another necessity for a middling 'scientist' then , the ability to live on soup! grin.

TheDoctrineOfSnatch Wed 06-Mar-13 23:37:21

Love/passion for it. Ties in with obsession sometimes!