why oh why are the half terms different?

(9 Posts)
Tigresswoods Mon 07-Mar-16 18:07:54

Disclaimer: total first world problem

We've been away skiing with friends the last 2 years. Both families have primary school aged children.

We planned to continue this indefinitely. It works, we all get on & have a fab time.

Disaster had struck. In 2017 the term dates don't match (we live in neighbouring but differs counties ) & February half term for them is a week before us!

We are now at stalemate. Neither family would want to take kids out of school. I know we probably have to just accept the situation & hope it doesn't happen next year.

almostthirty Mon 07-Mar-16 18:15:22

Could you go mid week to mid week so each families dc only need 2 days off term time disclaimer I am a teacher and don't agree with not allowing term time holidays

allthekingsshoes Mon 07-Mar-16 18:21:24

It's a pain but Easter ? Or New Year?

Sparklycat Mon 07-Mar-16 18:44:16

Holidays always vary from county to county, you've just been lucky they've been the same until now.

CamboricumMinor Mon 07-Mar-16 18:49:01

It's one of those things. Go away at Easter instead when a week should overlap? Just be thankful that you aren't a teacher in a school which has different half term holidays to your own children, my DSis has this even though she works in the same town where her children are at school.

Biscuitsneeded Mon 07-Mar-16 18:54:37

Go at Xmas. It removes all the stress and pointless extravagance, and being there in the snow at Xmas is magical. Or if you have relatives you can't abandon at Xmas, go at New Year.

BackforGood Mon 07-Mar-16 19:00:44

It's always been the way in different local authorities.
What's getting worse is now - with academies and free schools and the like, there is less joined up thinking in the same authority, which obviously creates lots more problems.

mummymeister Thu 10-Mar-16 12:19:28