Confused

(13 Posts)
StarTravels Wed 30-Mar-16 14:40:41

I'm new to being a SAHP.

I quit my job while coming towards the end of my maternity leave and I'm still technically on maternity leave now. I have a 10 month old and it feels like I'm really struggling. Everyone else seems to just be very natural and I'm really not. I'm wondering if I made the wrong decision to stay at home.

I wanted to do it because I believe it's what's best for my DS, but now he's bigger, I feel like it just keeps getting harder.

He won't ever just play by himself. All day long he moans if I don't sit with him or carry him. I can't do any house work, or go to the loo, or even go to the supermarket now as he cries if I put him in the buggy - he just wants to be on the floor, crawling around, with me playing with him all day. I can't go to a cafe, as he needs to crawl. I can't put him in the car as he will fall asleep and then bedtime will be ruined!

I used to take him to a baby group every day but now he's got older, he's too mobile for all of the groups, and now we only do swimming and baby sensory (but even that he's a bit too mobile for, so I think it may need to end soon). I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do with him all day. Do you all have routines? I'm wondering if I should try to teach him and maybe if I just give up and try not to do anything else and focus on him completely then maybe I will be more successful? I feel like I should be doing other things though - like food shopping and cleaning.

Because we can't go out without him crying all the time. I'm piling on the pounds too, and I'm getting even more miserable.

I was on ADs which I've recently stopped, so I'm also not sure if maybe I ended them too soon and that's why I feel this way, or whether this is normal. Everyone else seems to be having a lovely time! All my NCT friends are all now back at work, so any structure I had before has disappeared; and the people I had to talk to have gone.