Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

So upset at DH

(25 Posts)
Awfullyconfusedwhat Thu 29-Sep-16 20:19:15

I've just come home from a 12 hour day and I asked DH to listen to a reading that I am doing at my grandmothers funeral tomorrow Instead of listening he started aggressively cleaning the kitchen . He has cleaning obsession to the point of ocd and won't leave the house unless it is spotless. He doesn't think I should be grieving my grandma because she was 94. He is a nurse and deals with death on a daily basis .
He hasn't talked to me properly in days. He never talks to me about how he's feeling. He just said perhaps I shouldn't go tomorrow and he is sick of the house not being clean. I work as a teacher at a boarding school.
We've been together 12 years. 3 kids . He never wants to go out and the romance is dead. I'm so upset as the same happened about a year ago. He said he would change his ways and start making life more fun.
We have very different values and at times like this it really shows. Shall I just bite the bullet and hope it gets better?

gobbynorthernbird Thu 29-Sep-16 20:45:03

He's had a year to implement change. He hasn't. Do you want to be miserable for the rest of your life?

Topseyt Thu 29-Sep-16 21:18:52

He sounds very cold hearted. Of course you will grieve for your grandmother even if she was 94. She was a major part of your life and had always been there for you I guess.

Will he ever change? Is he capable of it long term, or will he just change for a few days or weeks and then revert to type?

ImperialBlether Thu 29-Sep-16 21:22:09

Gosh, why are you with him? If someone can't support you when you're in need, why bother with them?

Meeep Thu 29-Sep-16 21:24:58