Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Pressure from in-laws to get married and have DC

(19 Posts)
tooyoungtobeamrs Tue 20-Sep-16 10:27:27

Hi all, I'd love to get some perspective on this even though I am sure it has been debated before. NC for this, I am a regular poster but I don't want to out myself. Long post ahead!

DP and I have been dating for 5 years. We have been living together for the last 3 years. I am 27 and he is 31.

We both have rewarding but demanding careers in the creative industry. I only started working ft 2 years ago after I got a master degree, so I am still relatively junior and have yet to prove myself.

We are happy together and love our current life.

The problem is that DP's parents can't wrap their heads around the fact that we don't feel ready to get married and have kids yet. They are so pushy about this, they won't just let it go.

Every time we visit them (they are based overseas very far away from
the UK) they keep raising the topic again and again, saying that they are "worried" we will never get married and have a family, demanding we tell them at least what year we are planning to get married so they have something to look forward.

This is making me really uncomfortable. As someone whose parents went through a bad divorce, I have mixed feelings about the idea of getting married. I think when I am
older and feel ready for kids I will probably come around and accept the idea of marriage to protect myself and my DC, but at the moment I definitely not feel ready for it.

I don't think DP feels ready for marriage and children either, but I can see that he is sorry to cause such a grief to his parents.

What is your opinion on this situation?