Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Can't decide what to do for the best

(2 Posts)
Rebecca1158852 Wed 20-Jul-16 22:07:00

Hello,I'm new to mumsnet but have read other threads and just need some advice, I have nowhere to turn. I can't decide whether my husband and I should split up.

I have been with my husband since I was 19, he was 28. He had 2 young children who are now teenagers and for reasons to do with their mum came to live with us 6 years ago. We also have a 2 year old together.

He has always been fairly controlling. He would deny this. He never really liked me going out after work with colleagues etc. My pregnancy wasn't planned, he was always very vocal about the fact that he didn't want more children, but when I got pregnant we both decided that having the baby was the right thing to do and I was really happy.

Our son was born and it was difficult from the start - a 10 day NICU stay due to an infection and then when he was 4 months old we found out he had a rare genetic condition. He has severe developmental delays. It's been tough but to me he's my perfect baby and he's a happy little thing I wouldn't change it. My husband struggles with it more than me.

Since he's been born he's been even worse about me going out, it causes a massive argument for me to do anything. He has anxiety and OCD and has basically said that he is scared that something is going to happen to me (hit by a bus / blown up by a terrorist / hit by a falling tree etc) and our son will be left without a mum. I generally don't let him be controlling and will usually go out or do whatever it is as I don't feel I need his permission.