Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Work relationships - boss

(61 Posts)
Letmebeme1 Fri 06-May-16 22:06:43

I am hoping that someone was in similar situation and can help me make sense of it

I am professional with a good career and very strong track record in my company. I have been working for my boss (call him X) directly for 2 months, but know him for about 1year as I was doing projects for him previously and had a line manager in between for period of 6 months.

2 months ago I went for an interview as my line manager was leaving and got a job reporting to X.

X is very charismatic and great with people as he builds a personal rapport and fantastic at support and motivating. He always been very complimentary of me, in terms of work and as a person. He happened to say few personal compliments that sounded a bit unprofessional ie. you're gorgeous but maybe 2-3 times since I report to him. X is a senior guy, director level. He is in his early 50s, married and family man. I am in mid 30s married with two children <5yrs.

I know he likes to speak to women.

There are changes in my company and he is likely to be moved to a different business entity. At the 121 meeting today we talked about uncertainty of our roles and he gave me a lot of great advice. But he also asked if I am in a certain office next week and if We could go out for lunch. I agreed as I have great respect for him and feel as I can learn a lot from him.

But I am overanalysing;

1/ He did not put it as a formal invite in our diaries as did not want his PA to question that he does lunch only with me
2/ He could do lunch with me locally but chosen location where we are unlikely to be seen by coworkers
3/his previous comments make me slightly uneasy although when I questioned it once he behaved extremely professional