Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Argh help me rescue this situation after I fu@*$ed it up!

(13 Posts)
Shameandregret Mon 21-Mar-16 17:11:35

I met a really nice guy OLD. Had 6/7 dates with him and really liked him, he seemed to like me, was really respectful etc.

Then last week I got scared for a couple of reasons:
1. He was talking about buying a REALLY expensive car. Sent me a link and asked me what I thought (he has a really good job and works really hard so can afford) but I felt intimidated tbh. I'm a lone parent, have 2 jobs and I'm a masters student. I'm skint.
2. I thought he was losing interest as he cancelled the last date we arranged and it was the first time he was meant to stop over.

So that night I went out with my friends and had a great night and in my period, pre-flu, wine filled state thought 'I am not feeling this, I want to be single, he's not my kind of person, we are not on the same level.' (status/finance/looks wise etc).

Heard nothing from him. Felt fine about it at first but over the week I realised a lot of this was down to my insecurities. I left an abusive marriage 18 months ago. It's left it's mark. So I texted him last night and he responded saying he could tell I had been hurt in the past but didn't want to pry and was just following my lead but if I wanted to tell him I could and he really likes me but he doesn't want to push. How can I tell him that yes I have issues (though I can't explain what they are even to myself?!) but I do like him and want to see where this goes?

I have some massive things going on personally too (a criminal trial) so everything feels messy. Argh, help please before I completely ruin this.

CaptainSnootyofthePoshBrigade Mon 21-Mar-16 17:32:07

You sound like you are looking for permission to be happy.