Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Supporting friend getting back with abusive man

(18 Posts)
FusionChefGeoff Fri 18-Sep-15 22:08:52

I am very worried about a friend who left an abusive partner earlier this year when emotional abuse finally turned physical. After a court case which fell apart, she is now back in contact with him 'to get some answers' and has met him recently and admits she would consider getting back into a relationship with him.

I have no experience myself but spend a lot of time on these boards

FusionChefGeoff Fri 18-Sep-15 22:16:24

Posted too soon!!

And know that this is very dangerous and that after a short time on 'best behaviour' he is likely to ramp up the abuse if they do get back together. I tried staying the bloody obvious by pointing out that this is a man who attacked her - it wasn't a single punch or shove but lasted several minutes - but she got very defensive and tried to tell me that she was in control, had him over a barrel and that 'bad people do bad things but good people can make bad decisions'.

I was simultaneously fucking furious with her for being so stupid and terrified about what could happen. I am also so, so sad for her that she has such rock bottom self esteem that this vicious, nasty, controlling and manipulative bell end is viable relationship material.

I don't want to alienate her as I want to make sure she will always be able to call me from wherever if she needs help. But I can't just let this happen - can I???? Telling her to contact Woman's Aid etc would be pointless at the moment as she is in denial but is there anything I could say or do that could help?

brokenhearted55a Fri 18-Sep-15 22:19:02

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

DaisyChain87 Fri 18-Sep-15 22:23:49