Note: Mumsnetters don't necessarily have the qualifications or experience to offer relationships counselling or to provide help in cases of domestic violence. Mumsnet can't be held responsible for any advice given on the site. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

How can I stop being a people pleaser/start saying no to people/lay down some boundaries?

(24 Posts)
suchapushover Fri 11-Jul-14 23:30:47

Any time I say no to someone they end up getting annoyed about it, and then I end up being the one that backs down and apologises. I am not good at confrontation, and I hate an atmosphere. When I was a child my parents both sulked a lot and were always in bad moods. I hate it when people are cross with me. I hope there are ways of saying no to people without WW3 breaking out?

There are many examples but one in particular is my SIL. I know really that she takes the piss out of me in terms of babysitting. She asks me all the time and then I end up babysitting for far longer than arranged. On the few occasions that I have said no, SIL has created a huge fuss, and it just causes trouble within the family. On the one occasion that I have asked her to babysit for us (emergency) she went uncontactable, not answering her phone and didn't reply to the text I sent her either.

I also have a friend that just seems to want favour after favour. Again if I say no to her then she gets cross, and phones me up to basically have a go at me. I end up going along with things that I don't want to do just for a quiet life. One day last summer she wanted to go to the beach, and I couldn't go as I already had plans, and she fell out with me majorly, bitching about me to mutual friends and being a total cow to me, because I wouldn't do as she said.