Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

How do you run away?

(18 Posts)
GeetTallBird Sat 16-Feb-13 18:58:10

JJS he just came round to drop off the monthly maintenance and I had to beg him to come in and see his kids as he had "his tea waiting".
Sound like a concerned dad to you?

JumpingJackSprat Sat 16-Feb-13 17:52:58

so he sees them regularly every other weekend. im no expert but my understanding is that he would be able to apply to the court to stop you going for example, to the other end of the country. you cant just decide to sever your childrens relationship with their father. i think you should probably seek legal advice.

MumVsKids Sat 16-Feb-13 12:48:05

I'd definitely go with a move to Scotland, I'd move there in a heartbeat.

The pace of life is better, quality of living is better, property is cheaper etc etc.

Ok so there aren't as many opportunities jobs wise, which is why we have never done it, but since DH has become a self employed property maintenance engineer covering plumbing and joinery, it's back in our horizons again.

Seriously, good luck. And don't think about it as running away, more as creating opportunities for you and your DCs.

grin

OldLadyKnowsNothing Sat 16-Feb-13 12:42:45

No, not born, just "ordinarily resident" for (I think) three years prior to application.

GeetTallBird Sat 16-Feb-13 12:25:01

Dont you have to be born in Scotland to qualify for that though ;)

ImperialBlether Sat 16-Feb-13 11:59:16

I'd do it in a flash!

The way things are in England at the moment, I'd move either to Cardiff or to a city in Scotland. If you go to Scotland and nothing changes there your children will have free education at university - that's worth £27,000 for each! In Wales it's still £3,000 each per year.

GeetTallBird Sat 16-Feb-13 10:48:52