Wood Green n22 or Clapham South sw4

(6 Posts)
Barbiebetty Fri 26-Aug-16 18:15:43

Hi I currently living in Wood Green n22 on social house I don't like the area at all, but enjoy the surrounding areas (muswell hill,couch end, Finchley and Barnet) and grow up in Barnet so i know the north London area pretty well. Iv recently been offered a flat in Clapham South, clearance cresent. I have little knowledge of the area is it better then Wood Green? What are the schools like iv got a 10yr old and a 4yr old so need advice on secondary and primary schools, I'm ready for a move but don't to move in a place worst then we're I am, any advice would be much appreciated.

venys Fri 26-Aug-16 21:12:07

I lived near Clapham South about 9 years ago and have visited or lived near a few times since. It is a nice area near some gentrified places. Shops and amenities are pretty good. Not sure about schools. But be warned if you need to use Northern Line as it is pretty packed in peak times. I think it has got worse now. My commute was pretty miserable.

lalalonglegs Fri 26-Aug-16 23:01:32

Is that Clarence Crescent? To be honest, it's in a bit of no-man's-land between Clapham and Brixton, a good 15 minute walk to the tube along part of the South Circular. There is a school near that estate that a few years ago had a poor reputation (one of my daughter's friends lived on the estate and deliberately chose to send her children to a school that was very inconvenient in order to avoid it) but things may have improved. There are is a small parade of shops that will provide you with essentials but the nearest supermarket is at Clapham South.