House share for single mothers

(16 Posts)
Anjali5 Sat 28-May-16 09:53:24

Hi, I would like to share a house with a single mom preferably in North Tyne side area. I am a newly qualified teacher and can't afford to rent a place by myself. I think two single moms can work things out by sharing a house. My son is 11 years old and a very well behaved boy.

FrogFairy Sat 28-May-16 12:25:52

Not sure how this would work if either or both of you are claiming tax credits or benefits. I dont know if they would treat you as a couple.

Anjali5 Sat 28-May-16 12:43:23

I am not claiming any benefits or tax credits.

SocksRock Sat 28-May-16 15:32:35

They won't treat them as a couple if they aren't a couple. Just like any house share.

concertplayer Sat 28-May-16 15:55:27

Where would you look for a suitable person?
Gumtree or the local press? Gingerbread perhaps?

awhfuck Sat 28-May-16 15:56:17

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Anjali5 Sat 28-May-16 16:07:47

I am trying to analyse if this would work or not and thought perhaps another single mom might have a similar thought.

lalalonglegs Sat 28-May-16 19:25:52

I think it could work well if you found a house sharer who you clicked with and whose child (children) got on with yours. But it would have to be a big house to accommodate you all - four bedrooms and probably two bathroomss t least. Are you sure it wouldn't be cheaper to rent a small two-bedroom flat instead until you can afford something a bit better?

Ambivalence Sat 28-May-16 22:58:57

I'm a single mum to a 10 month old dd and I've just bought a 4 bed 2 bathroom house.
I was thinking of getting a lodger in for company/ extra money, but wonder who'd want to house share with a baby except another single ..so there are people out there who want this.

I have no idea where I'll advertise though..

Anjali5 Sun 29-May-16 13:14:14

Hi, I would consider sharing it with you as long as it is near a good secondary school please PM me.