How to paint mdf?

(14 Posts)
RoastieToastieReastie Thu 21-Apr-16 14:47:04

Any advice for a complete novice? I e just had some built in units made in an alcove and they look great but need painting. I'm thinking of doing white/cream around the edges and then a darker colour for the back of the shelves and white shelves, or maybe ulticoloured shelves.

I've bought a wood primer and was going to do a couple of coats of that then a once cost of satinwood but looking online there are so many ways people seem to paint mdf from acrylic primer to using emulsion paint to sealing it. I have no idea what most of this means but I want to get a decent finish and get this right if anyone has any advice.

Thanks.

JocastaFarquhar Thu 21-Apr-16 23:05:12

Just undercoat it and paint it using the paint of your choice. It may need a light sand first. I glossed all my mdf skirting boards and they came out fine. No need for fancy stuff.

elephantoverthehill Thu 21-Apr-16 23:09:06

The edges, if they have been cut will need sealing before painting.

KindDogsTail Thu 21-Apr-16 23:11:58

www.finewoodworking.com/how-to/article/tips-for-painting-mdf.aspx

These tips make sense to me. Get a really good oil based primer.

Then you could use undercoat followed by oil eggshell. Use very fine sand paper and dust thoroughly between the coats of paint. You should get a beautiful finish this way.

RoastieToastieReastie Fri 22-Apr-16 07:29:07

Thanks for the help.

I admit I'm still a bit confused by the link blush . I've checked my primer/undercoat and I have no idea if it is oil based or not. I'm attaching a photo if anyone can help me?

How would I seal edges? Use the drywall compound?

Also, once I've primed, can I use just regular emulsion? I think according to the link I can but I'm not sure confused.

I assume normal wood paint would be oil based?

KindDogsTail Fri 22-Apr-16 22:36:21