survey says there's Asbestos in artex ceilings

(22 Posts)
Treadlightly Mon 02-Jun-14 12:55:16

We're buying a 1950's semi & just got the survey back

It's said the artex ceilings may have asbestos & also the drainpipes.

The roof felt lining is torn in places & needs repairing - could be a whole new roof..

we offered 10k below the asking price & it was sealed bids - sale by tender.

Would you ask for a reduction?

Or ask the vendors to remove all the asbestos before we exchange contracts?

SwedishEdith Mon 02-Jun-14 13:05:35

I think lots of 70s artex had asbestos and I think it'd be a messy job to remove it. Maybe get a quote for skimming it and see if the vendor wants to half. They might not though

Treadlightly Mon 02-Jun-14 13:09:04

Do you thinks it's ok to just skin it? Would it be safe enough?

I'm a teacher so have been surrounded by the stuff for years grin
Just a bit worried about it being in dd's bedroom

BrianTheMole Mon 02-Jun-14 13:11:19

Depends how much you want it. We knocked off the price of a garage roof when we were buying. The seller agreed. But I was prepared to walk away if he didn't.

tobiasfunke Mon 02-Jun-14 13:14:01

It's fine if it is left where it is. It is only dangerous when it's being broken up when removed.
So skim coating it the safest thing to do. That's what we did. My uncle is a demolition expert who spent a lifetime removing asbestos from buildings and that was his advice.

Treadlightly Mon 02-Jun-14 13:14:36

We want it.... But mainly because there's so little on the market & we've had so much trouble finding a house hmm
Been gazumped & another vendor put price up £30k...

Pros outweigh the cons though - it has a lovely big garden!

tobiasfunke Mon 02-Jun-14 13:15:42

Forgot to say I'd be more worried about the cost of the roof. You should get a couple of roofers to have a look and give you an estimate.

SwedishEdith Mon 02-Jun-14 13:16:22