Moving to kent

(13 Posts)
missy75 Mon 24-Mar-14 10:57:38

Hi all
I'm new to Mumsnet and this is my first post!
Looks like a great website with helpful members.

My partner and I are hoping to start a family soon (1-2 years). We live in the north west at the moment, but my family is from London.

I would prefer to move to the areas just outside London, like Kent.

I'm a lawyer and my partner works in Finance.

We would be applying for jobs in Central London mostly, and I hope to work part-time down the line with children.

I am wondering if anyone knows much about Kent? I have done some research via Google, but nothing that is really standing out.

I'm trying to find our the following:
Which areas in Kent have good access to London (for work and family) e.g. trains, motorway.
Which areas are good for families e.g family centered areas, good schools.
Which areas are safe i.e. low crime rate.

It sounds like I'm asking for a lot from Kent lol. But we just wanted to make an informed decision.

Thank you all for your help!

X

Purpleknickers Mon 24-Mar-14 11:42:16

Whitstable is lovely and on a direct route to London on the train in just over an hour. Good schools and lots of family things to do. Plus there are good schools in the town and 1/2 hour on the bus.

Personally I would avoid the Medway towns of Chatham, Rochester etc although nearer to London they are not great towns

Good luck

West Kent - Tunbridge Wells area might be worth looking at. DH grew up there.

nessus Mon 24-Mar-14 16:16:32

Another vote for West Kent. It ticks all your requirements and then some. Parts of NW Kent are also lovely. Either way you can get into central London in less than 40mins. I personally would not choose to commute into London further out than this.

MmeDefarge Mon 24-Mar-14 18:33:12