which period semis have the best soundproofing / thicker walls?

(11 Posts)
beaglesaresweet Sun 08-Dec-13 01:10:39

I've only ever lived in Victorian/Edwardian flats, but now hoping to move to a house, and budget wise, more likely to get a 30s or later house.

I have no experience of them, or living in any semi-, but going by MN threads, the neighbours can a nightmare, that every cough can be heard! shock I thought I'd be getting away from it after being in flats with upstairs neighbours )which i really don't enjoy as insulation isn;t great in conversions).

So what is he best bet? sounds like it's 30s houses, or are they worse than victorian? thank you!

GuinevereOfTheRoyalCourt Sun 08-Dec-13 08:23:15

I don't think there is a cut and dry rule for this. Apart from houses built in the last 10 years, which have to comply to building regs relating to sound insulation, it will simply come down to the quality of the build.

The best way to guess at the build quality is to consider who the house was originally built for. Regardless of its current relative value, if it was originally a pauper's cottage then it's much more likely to have been built on the cheap.

60s and 70s builds are perhaps the most notorious for thin walls. However, I live in a 70s terrace, and although it isn't brilliant, it's actually better than some of the Victorian and 30s houses I've stayed in.

It's also worth thinking about which and how many rooms are along the party wall. Halls adjoining is often preferable as you don't usually want to sit quietly in your hall and thus won't notice any noise coming through.

BrownSauceSandwich Sun 08-Dec-13 09:14:02