Can you put in an offer if it's already under offer?

(77 Posts)
Rooners Sun 01-Dec-13 15:55:07

Sorry, I am a complete newb to house hunting.

I haven't got a CLUE what the protocol is so please forgive if I sound completely stupid.

But we've found a house that's under offer and we really, really like it.

Would it be unfair/wrong/unethical to make an offer ourselves?

I am sure I will realise all the answers to this stuff as we go along, but for now, I am relying on you lot and a bunch of estate agents to show me the ropes!

What should we do?

GingleBells Fri 13-Dec-13 07:46:47

Oh poor you Celtic. (it's the OP here)

Seeing it from your POV I can totally understand why they want as many people to see it as possible. I mean, that was never something I didn't get iyswim - but when I started the thread it was from the POV of someone wanting to see something already under offer, and I needed to know what the protocol was.

And now I get it I think...

We really want this place and wouldn't have offered if we weren't pretty sure. We have sought legal advice and put in two offers conditional on certain terms which we've already investigated.

We have though asked to meet the vendor because it is leasehold, and that means we will be in a contract with this person and so if we find we don't like him, or cannot see ourselves getting on with him or being on the same page then we may withdraw our offer.

I think that's only sensible. But now he is considering selling the freehold with the property, as well, which may take it out of our budget entirely.

I'm not sure why he is considering this (though I can't really understand someone wanting all that responsibility without ownership of the property to live in, iyswim, and we would be glad of the freehold share).