Things to ask a builder

(11 Posts)
indiegrrl Sat 17-Nov-12 18:55:04

We've got 2 builders coming round to give quotes on a few things on house we're buying: new roof, new windows, some internal decor. I've made a list of all the jobs for them, but is there anything general I should remember to ask, about their firm, their work, payment etc? Thanks.

Don't forget to ask them how many sugars they have in their brew! wink

And what sort of biscuits they prefer.... grin

legoballoon Sat 17-Nov-12 18:59:49

Do they take cash, nudge nudge!

indiegrrl Sat 17-Nov-12 19:00:28

Of COURSE. My cousins are builders, so I know the drill (and am VERY lucky), but they don't do roof or windows so now I've got to deal with being polite and assuming people will need to be asked if they want a cup of tea rather than just raiding my cupboards leaving biscuit crumbs everywhere...oh well small price to pay for the family discount!

Sorry I was being facetious, as I'm a Playmobil builder who loves brew! grin

But seriously, I would ask if they can provide you with examples of previous satisfied customers. Then you will really know if they are ok.

WildThong Sat 17-Nov-12 19:04:54

Ask them if the same person will be there every day, for continuity....
Nothing worse than different faces every day with the problems that can bring.
(speaking from experience)

wonkylegs Sat 17-Nov-12 19:05:18

Payment terms (shouldn't pay up front)
How do they expect to deal with anything they find as a surprise... Take roof off and find unexpected work.
Get agreements to exactly what they are going to do & how much it costs in writing.
How long is it going to take?
Exactly what are they using - type of tile/slate for roof and if they are suggesting them ask why that particular one.
What happens if they cause any damage?
Do they have examples of their work/ references you can check out?
What guarantees do they have for their work /materials? Are they insurance backed?