End of year 1 target level

(21 Posts)
Cortina Fri 04-Dec-09 06:45:25

What level would you hope your child would achieve by the end of year one?

What level should an average child be at at the end of term one year one?

What levels, if any, are a cause for concern or signs that you may need to ask for extra help etc?

Not putting it well and am a stranger to KS1 etc, off to read up on it.

Thanks.

seeker Fri 04-Dec-09 06:54:33

The school should have targets recorded for your individual child. You child should know about them - not what levels but what he or she is working towards - for example "using full stops in my writing" or"knowing number bonds to 10" That sort of thing.

Disclaimer - don't know if they are real year 1 targets - I just remember them both for my children - can't remember what year!

primarymum Fri 04-Dec-09 07:31:14

Do you mean SATS levels? If so, then basically anywhere between a W and a 2! As a year 1 teacher I would hope that a good proportion of my children are a 1B by the end of the year, above this is lovely and a 2 would be great! I would certainly expect some to be below this and wouldn't worry too much, although would be looking for some additional group work to bring them along. If still on W by the end of yr 1 I would be concerned.

Cortina Fri 04-Dec-09 10:33:44

Hi Primary Mum. Yes I mean SATS, thanks Ws etc make sense!

Out of interest where would you 'expect' an average pupil to be in terms of reading, writing and maths at the end of term one?

Do you ever get a paragraph on the child in a report or am I hopelessly out of date? In other words 'primarymum is an lovely child, anxious to please and always helpful. At the beginning of the year she showed some signs of....etc'.

seeker Fri 04-Dec-09 10:52:49