Are you allowed to help out in your own childs class ?

(43 Posts)
mumto2andnomore Tue 29-Sep-09 18:22:08

Im a teacher and my head has just announced that parents will no longer be able to help out in the own childs class (for reading, helping with crafts etc ) Just wondered how common this is ? Seems daft to me, its not like we have had any problems before.

Cant see us getting much parental help now !

mrz Tue 29-Sep-09 19:07:27

We have had children who have been "upset" by having their parent in the class and others who have compared other children's reading levels but in most cases it isn't a problem. Perhaps the head has had a complaint?

Hulababy Tue 29-Sep-09 19:11:14

I work in a Y1 class and the parents who help out with reading, cooking, etc. are parents of the children in our class. It seems to make more sense that way. If you are offering your time to help out, then you'd want it to be your own child's class to benefit really I guess. It has never caused any problems yet. Only time we put parents off is if their child hasn't yet settled at school, as better to wait til they are before they come in.

I have also helped out in DD's class when she was in Y1 and Y2, and in the other infant classes, up til last year. Was never a problem. I was doing it on a more formal basis though, gaining experience f a primary school setting.

Not at our school - I've helped out 1/2 a day a week for nearly 3 years and have never been allowed into my DS class.

clam Tue 29-Sep-09 19:14:48