My year 4 DS. A very depressing parents evening

(17 Posts)
intheknickersoftime Sat 26-Nov-16 16:15:40

I am at my wit's end with my ds school. I have two older children who are at secondary and they both went there and I have never had these problems. They have had the same head, same year 4 teacher and I have volunteered and worked at the school as a a midday. I have some experience as a lsa. This is all for context as I am hoping I don't come across as precious.

He has always struggled with his attainment. He has an IEP. He doesn't have any additional needs and he is currently working at a year 3 level but "only just" as I understand from the recent parents evening. (It was a shock to know how low attaining he is at this point). He is in a small rural primary with four classes of mixed year group. He has numeracy and literacy in a year 3 group and them moves back into class 4 for the rest of the day which has year 4 5 and 6. I am adamant that this does not work. Parents evening was a mess. His books weren't available to me because he moves classroom and no one seems to be taking any real responsibility for his learning. He has a TA to support him. She isn't his 1 to 1, she supports him and others also. I'm not keen on her approach. If she feels there are things that he needs to work on she will take it upon herself to tell me. She is related to the year 3 teacher.

The year 3 teacher he has for numeracy and literacy hasn't once contacted me or helped me identify ways I can support him. In parents evening the first thing she said was that he was disengaged and messing about in lessons and not trying. I had no idea things had got so bad.