Reception Reading

(13 Posts)
Monkeymonstermum Tue 22-Nov-16 00:33:47

My eldest has just started reception in September. Just wondering what a normal/average amount of reading from school is (as I'm new to it all)?!
He's getting 4 books per week on the reading scheme, often one of these is a book with 2 stories. He also chooses a fun book to read from their class library.
I'm not criticising at all, just genuinely interested if this is average.
He loves the reading and is hugely enthusiastic about it so it's not a problem. We've always read every night anyway. The only thing I've noticed is that it gives us less time to read our fun home books but we still manage some of those (just by the time he's insisted on all the books, bed time is getting pushed back a bit)!
Thanks in advance.

Ginmummy1 Tue 22-Nov-16 08:18:35

Judging from my own experience with DD last year and things I've read on MN, I'd say he's getting more books than most reception children. Does he get one per day, or two books twice per week, or all four once per week? Do you get the impression that the other children in the class get the same number of books as him?

Do you get the impression that the teacher wants him to read all of the books at that level in order to move up a level? Are the books too easy, or do you think they're at the right level?

If he's happy and you're happy, all is good!

SomedayMyPrinceWillCome Tue 22-Nov-16 08:26:48

Wow! My DS is also in reception, he gets 1 "practice book" ( for him to read to me) & 1 picture book (for me to read to him). These are changed weekly, I think the teacher hears him read once a week

irvineoneohone Tue 22-Nov-16 08:34:43

At my ds' school, books are changed daily from start of reception. So got more books than your dc's school. School books are very short and doesn't take long to read. If it takes long time, dc needs more practice. So I think it's a good thing.

Artandco Tue 22-Nov-16 08:39:25