I thought girls performed better at school than boys?

(17 Posts)
potentialqualms Mon 03-Oct-16 20:47:43

Have I got that wrong? I though overall girls did better at GCSE, although possibly not in Maths and Science?

At our infant school there's a massive gap between the achievement of girls and boys, with 20% more boys than girls achieving higher than expected at the end of KS1 in Maths and 15% in English. Apologies if I've got the terminology wrong, I'm no expert.

Anyway, this appears to be the next focus area with parents of girls being invited to meetings and family learning opportunities. The school seem to have decided that in our area (think Towie grin ) boys are encouraged and expected to do well and girls are still treated as little princesses at home and not expected to worry their pretty little heads with things like school work. there's definitely an inference that the problem stems from the home. I am shock but is it common?

ReallyTired Mon 03-Oct-16 22:09:29

In my experience girls usually out do the boys at every level at all levels of social class. What is happening in your child's school is very unusual.

junebirthdaygirl Mon 03-Oct-16 22:21:50

Think boys fall behind at about 14 as they couldn't care less at that stage and girls like to be competitive with each other then. I think a lot of 14 year old boys mums will know what l mean here!

ReallyTired Tue 04-Oct-16 09:19:45

Statistically boys are behind in every age group.

www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1559989/Boys-underachieving-at-school-says-study.html

I don't think I am in favour of boys having more resources than girls. Having a dick or being bone idle is not a special need.

AlbertaDewdrop Tue 04-Oct-16 09:51:27

This year girls have done much better than boys at KS1 expect in maths where it is only slightly higher. There are more high retaining girls in all areas as well, except maths where there are more higher attaining boys.