DS reception and mid-morning snack policy

(139 Posts)
Loletta Wed 21-Sep-16 18:18:37

Hi everyone
My DS has started reception and I have an issue with the policy adopted by his school which means he can only have a piece of fruit - provided by the school, no supplementing allowed - at break time. He's not a big breakfast eater, even if he was, there's no way he could go from 8 am to 12.30 with just a piece of fruit and not be starving.
Is this policy common? Should I challenge it? I'd be happy to give him an extra banana from home but was told that I'm not allowed to under any circumstances to do so otherwise everyone could be allowed to bring a piece of fruit from home and it would be too much work for the teacher.

neveruponatime Wed 21-Sep-16 18:23:35

How is it work for the teacher?!

I'm a reception teacher and I've never heard of that.

A snack from home can be quite soothing in a favourite tub for a 4 year old. Most of them would be ravenous shrieking octopuses by lunchtime shock

lifeisaconundrumattimes Wed 21-Sep-16 18:24:39

I don't see why it would be extra work for the teacher really BUT it is commonplace and actually I think if he can't go that long then he just needs more breakfast. If he had a big bowl of porridge with a banana and a glass of milk he should be able to go until 12:30. He won't starve. Perhaps look at breakfast options he will eat and encourage him this way?
I've worked at schools that provide morning snacks and the snacks they provide are balanced but small. No more filling than a piece of fruit.

EmmaGellerGreen Wed 21-Sep-16 18:25:14

That's exactly what happens in DS school. School provided snack and milk mid morning. DS has an enormous appetite and didn't starve!

BouleBaker Wed 21-Sep-16 18:25:44

Ours have a fruit snack but that's it. How much do you think they need to eat between breakfast and lunch?

NapQueen Wed 21-Sep-16 18:25:58

If he has sufficient breakfast then of course he can last!