Help!! My DS is losing interest at school and his teach isn't bothered

(15 Posts)
Agedoak Sat 21-May-16 07:05:34

I'm new to this so please forgive any lacking!!

I'm an older mum of an 8yo in year 3.
At home he is bright, funny, very confident engaging and very articulate, yet at school he is bossy, over confident and I'm certain an all round pain in the bottom....Problems started in year 2 when his teacher would often make him sit alone for talking (she was new to the school and perhaps had to 'stamp her authority'). This carried on in the playground with another child who decided to isolate him from his friends. Initially it wasn't a problem, my son just made new friends, and I discussed with his then teacher new strategies to not make him feel so isolated.
Now, in year 3 he seems to have lost all confidence in his abilities, he has gone from being one of the brightest kids in the class to almost needing extra support. I have asked his teacher for advice on how to support him at home (which was like pulling teeth). I get that he may be trying to find a way into old friendship groups by showing off which is a pain for any teacher to deal with, but for his teacher to disengage and allow him to slide to the bottom of the class I'm finding very difficult to deal with.
I'm not an educator and don't have sufficient understanding of the education system to know where to start to turn this current situation around. I have no doubt in my sons ability but how do I communicate all this to his teacher to achieve a positive outcome......

almostthirty Sat 21-May-16 07:10:41

His attainment slipping may be due to the huge change in the curriculum. Lots of confident really able children are struggling and are because expectations have risen dramatically and standards a day assessment brackets have been raised.

cansu Sat 21-May-16 07:14:23

Reading your op it sounds like