Late Application to Primary School - any help or advice really welcomed

(3 Posts)
BertsBee Wed 09-Mar-16 23:49:03

Hi,
I'm completely new to mumsnet but a friend suggested I post here...
I have a little boy who is due to start Primary School in September. We applied to our lovely village school in January and then 2 weeks later my husband of 10 years announced out of the blue that he was leaving us. This has thrown our life into turmoil, we moved here to be close to my husband's place of work, but as I work in London (90 miles away) and all of my friends & family are in London, I have decided to move back "home" and have secured a tenancy on a house a stone's throw from where I grew up. Having spoken to the LA in London, I was advised to secure an address and then make a late application via email, with a statement of "extenuating circumstances" and providing I did so by the end of this week, they would treat my application as on time given the circumstances, hence I have been able to list out 5 preferences of school.

I have tonight drafted an email to send, but I'm not sure this is sufficient - would you mind reading it over and giving some insight, I would be most grateful for any help you can give...

Dear Sir / Madam,

Following on from the advice given to me by members of staff within XXX XXX Pupil Services Team, please find below my application for a primary school place for September 2016, for my son XXX XXX.

As discussed with your team on 2 separate occasions, I am making a late application due to an unplanned and unexpected relocation to the XXX from our home in XXX. The application below should supersede the application I previously made to XXX in January, an application made before I was aware we would be moving back to London.