council doesn't put our son on waiting list

(10 Posts)
ukmama Fri 15-May-15 11:39:20

Hello Mums,

I'm a newbie here)

Could you please advise if there are any time limits for council to react when they get an application to a primary school?

We'd changed our address and I made a late application on the 30th of April asking to add my son's name to waiting lists at 2 schools. We've rented a flat that is just opposite the first school - we're looking at their windows every day. The council asked for proof of address and I immediately sent them all the documents we had by email. They confirmed they did receive them and ... nothing has changed since then. I regularly call them to check our position and every time I get a response that - well, yeah, they acknowledge the receipt of all the necessary documents from us but they haven't add my son's name into their system because "they have lots of applications at the moment".

Is it really so time-consuming to add a name on waiting list? More than 2 weeks have passed and I still don't know our position (it must be number one).

The school is extremely popular, I believe the most popular school in our borough. And this council's slowness is driving me mad.

TheMoa Fri 15-May-15 11:45:54

I don't know if there is a time limit, I believe 'a timely manner' is the phrase they use.

I wouldn't get your hopes of a place up too high though.

If the school is that popular, there may be no places coming up at all.

Religious, sibling, SEN, considerations etc. may mean you have to look elsewhere.

How old is your son, do they already have a school place somewhere?

ukmama Fri 15-May-15 11:55:56