What to read after Horrid Henry?

(22 Posts)
dontknowwhat2callmyself Sun 16-Feb-14 21:57:58

DD 7.8 loves reading Horrid Henry books which is fine I like them too but I would be interested to hear what your children read next as she loves them so much I can't imagine her moving on to anything else!

nicky2512 Sun 16-Feb-14 22:00:55

You could try Flat Stanley, Humphrey the hamster books, Paddington bear paperbacks and A Boy and a Bear in a Boat.

Leeds2 Sun 16-Feb-14 22:06:21

Jeremy Strong books.
Or Mr Gum?
Worst Witch.
Mr Majeika.

BaconAndAvocado Sun 16-Feb-14 22:08:47

As far as a child independently reading a book, I would recommend the Frank Lampard football books.

DS2 loves them! He is 7y 4 mo and I would say that they are similar in terms of reading level to HH.

kimlo Sun 16-Feb-14 22:10:36

after horrid henry I think dd1 started on the ramona series.

Then came the Jacqueline wilson obsession which is still going. also diary of a wimpy kid and David walliams.

Boltonlass1972 Sun 16-Feb-14 22:13:45

Captain underpants, Jeremy strong, horrible histories, astrosaurs, asterix, tin tin

ZacharyQuack Sun 16-Feb-14 22:15:11

DD loved the Horrid Henry books and then moved onto Diary of a Wimpy Kid and David Walliams. She's also really enjoyed Neil Gaiman's Fortunately the Milk.

freetrait Sun 16-Feb-14 22:18:02

Jeremy Strong was the next obsession. Then Horrible Histories and Horrible Science, and now Wimpy Kid. There has been a flirtation with a few other things but these are the ones he has chosen and read and read and read grin. (age 7.4 now)

Schmedz Sun 16-Feb-14 22:24:50

Tom Gates?

dontknowwhat2callmyself Sun 16-Feb-14 22:28:28

All suggestions sound great - I will start checking them out - Thanks x

Permanentlyexhausted Sun 16-Feb-14 22:34:21

DD (7) was absolutely besotted with Horrid Henry. I don't think there's a book she hasn't read and she watched the film almost on a loop! Try Enid Blyton's Naughtiest Girl series, Humphrey, anything by Roald Dahl.

DoneWithStruggling Sun 16-Feb-14 22:50:12

"Charlie" books by Hilary McKay. Secret Seven, Jack Stalwart, those animal books by Lucy Daniels (tons of the buggers). Worst Witch (Jill Murphy?).

What is your DD interested in?

mammadiggingdeep Mon 17-Feb-14 00:23:07

Judy moody books
Jeremy strong
Some of the easier Jacqueline Wilson

Ask at your local library or book store- they'll fall over themselves to advise...

mammadiggingdeep Mon 17-Feb-14 00:23:48

Yes- roalddahl books would be a good follow up...

Boltonlass1972 Mon 17-Feb-14 07:50:52

I use charity shops to try different ones out on ds. He now likes Michael Morpugo and Malorie Blackman, (he's 13) but it's amazing how many you can get from a cs for a few quid and he'd always read them.

dontknowwhat2callmyself Mon 17-Feb-14 08:33:37

Thanks we have read a few of the Roald Dahl books which she has loved Donewith - she's not particularly into anything it's more the style of the writing she enjoys humour.

Feenie Mon 17-Feb-14 10:46:32

Ds and I preferred Dirty Bertie books after Horrid Henry - much better written and very funny.

bibliomania Mon 17-Feb-14 10:50:52

Agatha Parrot! Very funny.

lookdeepintotheparka Mon 17-Feb-14 16:18:15

There is nothing like HH for reading with expression - DD loves it so much I don't even need to remind her! I have a love/hate relationship with them as I imagine a lot of parents do grin

DD also likes:

The Worst Witch
Oliver Moon (also funny!)
Jill Tomlinson stories e.g. The owl who was afraid of the dark
Jacqueline Wilson especially Tracey Beaker/ Sleepovers (some are still a little too old for her in subject matter)
Roald Dahl
Usbourne Young Readers - series 3
The seriously silly fairy tales series by Laurence Anholt

Dirty Bertie might be worth trying with your DD - mine isn't keen though as doesn't seem to have have the allure of HH hmm

LtGreggs Mon 17-Feb-14 16:22:49

No-one's going to mention the dreaded Beast Quest? I think there's over 60 in the series now... Bit repetitive in plot :-) but DS (7.0) loves them and they certainly get reading volume under the belt.

dontknowwhat2callmyself Mon 17-Feb-14 19:04:59

Thanks for more suggestions!

Lookdeepinto - that's exactly it DD loves reading HH using lots of tone and expression. I quite enjoy the stories myself but think the novelty will wear off for me soon!

LadySybilVimes Mon 17-Feb-14 19:08:41

My ds read:

Jeremy Strong (very funny books, both my kids loved them)
Adam Blade's Beast Quest series. (The same plot for 60+ books, but my ds seemed to love them)
Horrible histories,
Roald Dahl.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now