ZOMBIE THREAD ALERT: This thread hasn't been posted on for a while.

OK, somebody slap me re EYFS

(21 Posts)
CharlesRyder Tue 21-Jan-14 20:49:26

I have just signed out my DS's Learning Journey for the first time.

He is 41months and is still in the 22-36month bracket in 4 areas, one of which is 'Managing Feelings and Behaviour' and not in 40-60+ for anything. I am a bit gutted.

I am being a lunatic, or am I??

TheGreatHunt Tue 21-Jan-14 20:51:32

<slap>

I do wish preschools/nurseries didn't have to tell you this stuff!

CharlesRyder Tue 21-Jan-14 20:56:08

Yeah, me too and I am a teacher!! Thanks for the <slap>

TheGreatHunt Tue 21-Jan-14 20:58:50

grin and sorry!

He is a boy and will be okay.

Yes, there should be a spectrum as to where children should be at certain stages, but any mum can tell you that all children eventually meet targets.

lilyaldrin Tue 21-Jan-14 21:01:52

Well if he is only 41 months, you wouldn't really expect him to be in the 40-60+ category - that's working at a Reception level.

I assume if he is 22-36 months in 4 areas, then in most areas he is in 30-50 months, which is exactly where a 41 month old should be.

I work in early years and we are always told to look at what the child is secure at doing, rather than try to push them up - otherwise it's not a realistic picture of where the child is or the progress they've made. If he was being scored at 40-60 months now, where would he have to go?

elspethmcgillicuddy Tue 21-Jan-14 21:05:32

Another slap!

When Ds left nursery they had him in lower than expected for literacy. They had failed to notice that he could read (and well). I felt a bit flat but just made sure his reception teacher knew when he started school and it has made no difference at all.

MomentForLife Tue 21-Jan-14 21:16:38