How much do you 'push' your Reception child at home?

(60 Posts)
BoysRule Wed 20-Nov-13 20:30:28

My DS1 has just started in YR and was 4 a week before term started. I am a primary school teacher.

He is doing well at school and the teachers are happy. It is a very academic school and IMO they are teaching phonics at a very fast pace (a new sound every day). He is not keeping up with this at all and knows around 6 sounds - he can only write a couple of them.

I know if I was teaching him my advice to the parents would be to let him go at his own pace - there is no SEN and he is bright, articulate, confident and loves learning.

At the moment I do very little with him at home - he doesn't enjoy it and I can see that he is tired, not concentrating etc and I don't want to push him when, as a teacher, I can see he is not ready.

However, there is still a part of me that feels bad for not doing more with him at home. Even though this would be forcing him, I almost feel guilty for not helping the teachers by trying to teach him the sounds to 'keep up'.

How much do you 'push' your child at home? How much work do you do with them?

posheroo Tue 26-Nov-13 11:59:06

How much you push depends on the child not the teacher

AnotherStitchInTime Sun 24-Nov-13 17:50:35

My dd is summer born, but knew all her letter sounds and could read some cvc and high frequency words before starting Reception.

I practise her high frequency words with her and read everyday. On the weekend we do that plus whatever homework the school has set. Generally maths based, practising numbers, writing numbers, hours on the clock, measuring. If she wants to do more I do it with her, but she learns through daily activities too like shopping.

I agree that if your child is too tired pushing him may be counter productive at this stage. He will get there at his own pace.

columngollum Sun 24-Nov-13 17:38:58