can someone explain it to me in basic terms please???

(11 Posts)
neshi Mon 13-May-13 10:25:38

Well, quite honestly, I feel really stupid to even ask, so thought this would be just the right place to do it! I'm not british and most of my friends are also foreign...
How does the education work in the uk? With this I mean, I'm quite confused with at what age do kids start pre reception, reception, primary school... and then the exams!! I heard about exams at 5 years old but then heard about exams at 7 years old!!!
Can someone please explain to me in a very very basic way at what age do they start what and what kind of exams are they're going to go trough?

My Ds will be 3 very soon...july born.
Thanks

nickyjay2471 Mon 13-May-13 10:39:40

Hi. I am a primary school teacher so I will help as much as I can! Children start nursery education when they are 3 - you can choose whether this is taken up in a school or a private nursery and you are entitled to 15 hrs free per week. Depending on where you decide to take it this could be 3 hours per day / 2.5 days per week etc. If you want to access the school system you need to put your child's name down at your chosen school(s) and as soon as they have places after your child's 3rd birthday they will contact you. Then, the September after your child is 4 they will join a reception class, which is full time. You will have to apply for this via the local education authority through the school. During nursery and reception the children are assessed informally but not through 'exams' - just through their everyday learning experiences. This forms their 'baseline' assessment so their progress from this point can be tracked. Formal assessments (I.e. SATs) take place at the end of year 2 (7 yrs old) and the end of year 6 (11 yrs old). Any more questions just ask x

fatfloosie Mon 13-May-13 10:48:31