Moving to Cornwall - changing schools help

(6 Posts)
finleymummy Tue 26-Feb-13 13:58:52

Thanks Lazytoad, I believe we have the same dates but will double check that.

Lazytoad Tue 26-Feb-13 13:53:59

Check the term dates, Some of Cornwall have a different Easter hol to up country so it might be that you don't need to take your child out of school to visit new schools.

finleymummy Tue 26-Feb-13 13:28:08

We are planning to move to the Perranporth/St Agnes area during Summer. I have looked at a few school reports and websites with a view to visiting the schools. I am a primary teacher myself so know what to expect in a good school and will be visiting during school time. I want my child to have the best transition to a new school as he is very happy in his current school, and has some great friends. I feel that after the holidays is the best time for a new start in many ways. Perhaps we can visit the schools around Easter when we are there.

Snowme Mon 25-Feb-13 14:07:49

You may need to ring round the primary schools n the area you intend movingm to first, as they may not have any spaces.

I moved from a village to a medium sized town recently And there were only two spaces left in all of the 9 primary schools, both quelle surprise, at the worst Ofsted rated ones. I turned them both down (they were also a mile and half walk away) and my daughter is ow on the waiting list for transfer to the school at the end of my road. She's been waiting since last September and still has to bus in to her old school daily.

Reception, Year 1 and Year 2 have maximum class sizes of 30 pupils. Even Appealong won't get you a place.

If your child is above Year 3 it may be easier, as class sizes are not limited.

Apparently there is a shortage of spaces in primary schools nationwide due to combination of immigration levels and school closures.

Lazytoad Sun 24-Feb-13 22:19:22