Some handwriting concerns.

(5 Posts)
LouStan1 Tue 12-Feb-13 22:06:44

Hi, I am fairly new to mumsnet, I was hoping that maybe some teachers could give me some advice regarding my sons handwriting.

He is still young, he is 5 next month and in reception at an independent school, he is I think a fairly good reader (reading level 7-8 ORT - Level 8 in school and came home today with a book that said NC 2B on the back), he started reading in nursery on his own. He is however quite reluctant with his handwriting and Im starting to notice that his isn't as readable as some of the other children in his class. He doesn't sound out words when reading anymore and just learns from memory so I am wondering if this would be a problem when he is writing as his sister used to use phonics to sound out when trying to write? He is also left handed and I don't even know if the school are or should be teaching him some sort of left handed way of writing?

Thanks

meadowwalker Tue 12-Feb-13 22:25:08

Hi Lou, I teach reception and it is really common for writing to lag behind reading as the physical skills needed for writing are quite tricky, especially for summer born boys! Being left handed can bring some extra issues and the school should be helping him make sure his arm doesn't get in the way iyswim. I would concentrate on doing fun things that help him with his fine motor skills at home that might not even be writing e.g. cutting, threading, playdough. That will develop his muscles and make writing easier in the long run. Hope that makes sense!

LouStan1 Tue 12-Feb-13 22:35:42