Told not to help in dd's class as it unsettles her. ..

(39 Posts)
orangeandlemons Thu 13-Dec-12 11:59:15

I started helping in dd.s class. She is 6 and was really happy about it. I have only done 2 weeks. The first week she was fine, but the second week she got very upset and awkward.

Teacher told me today to leave it for a few weeks as it is unsettling her. I feel miffed. Are they right in this? I'm a teacher, but whilst I sort of understand this, I do think dd would have settled eventually. Now I have to tell her I can't go in and she will be gutted.

simpson Sat 15-Dec-12 00:15:04

In my DC school you cannot volunteer to be with the same year group as your DC.

So I have a child in yr3 and reception and read with kids in yr1,2 and 4.

Having said that no parent volunteers are allowed in reception anyway as we are there to listen to kids read and a lot of them cannot read and the ones that can, the teachers want to oversee it ( fair enough IMO).

Fuzzymum1 Fri 14-Dec-12 22:44:36

I found the same - I had been helping in the year 1/2 class while he was in YR and now he has moved up into year 1 I am still there. When I first helped this year he was fine then he started getting really upset that I was with other children rather than him, I explained to him that if he got upset by me being there I would have to stop and that would be a shame. It took a week or two but he was fine - now I get a "Hello mummy" when I arrive and he carries on with what he was doing.

carolb54 Fri 14-Dec-12 16:24:01

Not quite sure it is a good idea to assist in your DC classroom. It might unsettle your DC.

On the other hand, some parents go to assist in classroom with a different motives. They normally gossip in the playground about which DC are in bottom of groups etc which I find very distasteful.

SunflowersSmile Fri 14-Dec-12 15:56:07

I don't volunteer at school to sit with my child/ be in his class.