At what age does month of birth stop being considered?

(36 Posts)
AndiMac Mon 26-Nov-12 10:10:28

I have 2 kids at opposite ends of the school year. One is a winter baby, with lots of summer babies in her Y1 class with her. The other is an August baby and starting next year. I'd say both are about equal in ability, but obviously this develops with age. So I know that their teachers take into consideration the child's age (ie when in the school year they have their birthday) in reception and year 1, but I don't know when it is felt everyone is old enough to be on an equal playing field.

Does anyone have any insight into this?

When I taught KS3 I would look down the DoB list just in case it could add anything to my understanding of the pupils.

Wafflenose Wed 28-Nov-12 22:50:01

As a teacher, I would find it very difficult in any year group, to guess when a child's birthday falls by looking at their written work, particularly Year 2 upwards. Sure, there are maturity differences at first, but as someone says, some summer born children are way ahead of the autumn children from the start.

The effect of schooling is stronger than the effect of age. There are a few studies involving twins, where one has been (for example) ill and started school a year later than their twin. Although the same age, the academic differences were huge.

I have an Autumn born DD in Year 2, and a Summer born DD in Reception. I refuse to worry about the younger one. I know she will get there academically, and in fact is doing things around the same age her sister could - just in a different school year iyswim. I don't really think birth month should be rolled out as an excuse by the time teenagers are hitting GCSEs. Maybe there is a slight national difference in results between birth months, but this should not and does not mean that an individual should expect to do better/ worse than their friends.

cutegorilla Wed 28-Nov-12 22:31:55
Startail Wed 28-Nov-12 09:08:47

She was 13