This topic is for personal experiences or dilemmas; to debate the ethics of termination, please go here or here.

I feel pushed into terminating :(

(15 Posts)
erin89 Mon 26-Sep-16 13:35:24

Hello everyone,

Thank you for reading this post, I'm fairly new to this so please excuse my lack of lingo. I could really use any words of encouragement from an outsider or anyone who has been in a similar situation as I don't have anyone in my real life to talk to about it.

I have had someone in my life for over a year now, he really is the most special person I've ever met and I love him dearly. In January this year we were both shocked to find out I was pregnant as we were being so careful. I ended up having a medical termination at 5 weeks and can say honestly it was the worst decision I've ever made. I feel like I was pushed into it by my partner because he was so forceful about not wanting it and would sometimes say quite hurtful things to make me feel bad about the possibility of going through with it. The experience itself was very traumatic and I didn't cope very well, and until present day it still hurts so much emotionally, it hurts to be around people talking about pregnancy or having children. I know that sounds very strange.

I had an operation booked for two weeks time and because I'd missed a period the hospital needed to do a pregnancy test during my pre op. Imagine my shock on to discover I am pregnant again. We understood how it may have happened the first time as I had been quite ill but this time we are baffled as I've been told that most antibiotics don't interfere with the pill.