Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

getting signed off work

(11 Posts)
firstontheway Fri 23-Jan-09 11:50:15

Will try to make this at short as possible!

I'm 32 weeks pregnant and am on home monitoring/ medication for my blood pressure. Last week it shot up a bit and had + protein in my urine. After speaking to my hypertension midwife she advised I leave work till 36 weeks (which is when I'm on mat leave) as I'm a nurse and job involves lots of shift work/ long hours etc. I decided I didn't want to leave just yet, so spoke to my manager and we agreed to carry on and see how things went.

Anyway, the last 2 days my BP has gone back up again (though urine clear) and I went to GP yesterday to get a letter (my manager knew about this and was happy). While I was there I told him I'd been having bad stomach pains at times, particularly at night. He advised it was probably just pressure of the baby, examined me, wrote a note and I went home not checking the letter.

When I looked at the letter this morning he's signed me off for 4 weeks with abdo pain hmm which I'm not too happy with as I'm worried my manager will just ausume I'm trying to get signed off with anything, and my BP isn't a problem. I rang the GP surgery this morning, and my husband took the note in (along with a letter from me explaining why I thought it needed changing as there's no way my stomach pain warrants not going to work for 4 weeks!). And he said he can't sign me off for BP as he can only go by the clinical symptoms he sees? (BTW he didn't take my BP when I was there, I just told him what the hypertension team at the hospital had advised).