Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Just found out I'm pregnant! 20 y/o student!

(21 Posts)
user1479815160 Tue 22-Nov-16 12:51:18

Hi everyone, so I'm kinda new to this.

I'm 20 (21 in a couple of months) and recently came off my pill for health reasons, I was planning to switch to another. My partner and I had been having protected sex but something must have gone wrong, I know condoms don't always work!
Basically, I missed my period today so went and got a clearblue test - it came up positive. Faint, but positive. I'm pretty sure I must have conceived on 5th November, meaning I'd be due 5th August 2017.

Here are the problems:-
1. I'm a student. I've just started my third year of university and study full-time whilst also working part-time. Juggling this with a pregnancy will be difficult, I know. Also it means that I might have to delay starting a career right out of uni, like most students. I'd also be quite heavily pregnant when it comes to taking my exams in June, but I think I'd be able to manage.

2. Am I ready? I know only I can answer this question. On my way home with the sealed pregnancy test in my bag, all I kept thinking was, 'I really want this.' Now it's actually true, I'm terrified of course, but also have a little bubble of excitement.