Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Antenatal pumping for use after birth

(15 Posts)
crumblybiscuits Tue 22-Mar-16 14:14:05

I am 35 weeks with my second DD, set to be induced at 38 weeks. I'm on Labetelol which can cause low blood sugar in baby after birth and have been encouraged to pump and freeze colostrum as I would like to avoid supplementation with formula. I'm on my third day of pumping and have pumped and frozen about an ounce every day. How much is too much to pump? I don't want it to go to waste after my milk comes in as I will still be trying to breastfeed on demand but I'm getting a bit of a kick out of building a supply as I'm a very good producer. How much would you say I should take into hospital with me? Baby is set to be relatively big for 38 weeks, probably between 7-8lbs.

InFrance2014 Tue 22-Mar-16 15:02:03

Can't give advice on how much you need, but you might be able to donate what you don't use, wouldn't be a waste then but potentially a life saver for another baby.

BikeRunSki Tue 22-Mar-16 15:05:48

Will you have facilities to keep much fresh in hospital?

crumblybiscuits Tue 22-Mar-16 15:14:54

InFrance I'd love to donate it, I don't think they will accept it though without a blood test first? I know a few London hospitals accept it but mine is a tiny city hospital. We don't even have a midwife led unit.

Bike There is a milk kitchen with fridge/freezers and access to pumps. I have about 5oz frozen so far in a variety of 10ml syringes and 50ml bottles so I assume they will just defrost as necessary?

Could I continue to give baby colostrum top ups from my freezer stash even after my milk comes in or is that not okay?

Artioo2 Tue 22-Mar-16 15:44:35