Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Strike and Scans

(13 Posts)
Noodledoodledoo Tue 23-Feb-16 19:25:38

Hi all

I was just wondering if anyone had 20 week scan cancelled due to the Junior Doctor strike last time round - I know this will be different by area and am going to try and call antenatal scan clinic tomorrow.

I have no issue if it is cancelled as support them 100% but we have booked additional childcare we could cancel but need to do it sooner rather than later and it is actually when I am 20+5 so not leaving much time in the window!!

Thanks all

MadameJosephine Tue 23-Feb-16 19:34:18

I'm a midwife sonographer and none of our scan appointments were affected by the strikes. The only issue at my trust was that some women having growth scans needed to come back the next day to be seen by the doctors as the clinic was cancelled because the consultants were covering the wards on behalf of the juniors while they were on strike. Dating and anomaly scan weren't affected at all.

Noodledoodledoo Tue 23-Feb-16 19:38:10

Thank you - am hoping its the same for us - it was what I kind of thought it would be as well. Couldn't think of any reason why it would be but you never know!

MadameJosephine Tue 23-Feb-16 20:17:01

Won't hurt to give them a call to double check but as national guidelines say you should have your anomaly scan by 20+6 I can't see them changing your appointment for a later one.

Hope everything goes well

Noodledoodledoo Tue 23-Feb-16 22:06:17

I will call in the morning - the receptionist is a bit of a witch with appointments and just kept saying that due to Christmas they were really busy - I was 13+5 for my first and due to age Nuchal was important - but wouldn't be budged!

My first was a pain at 20 weeks and we had to go back a week later but luckily my first scan was at 19 something weeks so plenty of wiggle room.