Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Low lying placenta - bleed

(7 Posts)
Sunshinegirl82 Tue 23-Feb-16 17:26:34

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie here and just wondering if anyone has any advice/experiences they'd be willing to share?

I am 22+1 weeks pregnant with my first baby (a boy!). We had a great scan at 20+2 which showed baby growing well and identified that placenta was anterior and low lying. Sonographer said she thought it was just touching the cervix but not completely covering it. Re-scan booked in for 32 weeks but they seemed confident it would move. They didn't seem very concerned at the time.

The day after the scan I had some spotting, spoke to midwives who said to monitor it and call back if any more. 48 hours later I had more bright red spotting so went in to labour triage on midwives advice. Had an internal exam which seemed to prompt/dislodge some more bleeding but cervix appeared long and closed. Was admitted overnight for observation and released the following day after 24 hours with no bleeding. Doctors are confident the placenta is causing the bleeding and have said it could happen again. Have been put on "pelvic rest".

I have been anxious about this pregnancy throughout anyway and am now in a state of semi-permanent panic! I am incredibly conscious that until I hit 24 weeks they won't do anything to save the baby if something were to happen and I'm really struggling with the constant knicker watching and tearfulness. No more bleeding so far although the odd bit of brown spotting which midwives say is normal given the bleed.

Sorry for the epic post, just after a bit of reassurance if there's any out there! Thanks.

Junosmum Tue 23-Feb-16 18:38:03