Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

How would I know if my waters are leaking?

(13 Posts)
RockerMummy184 Thu 25-Jun-15 15:10:41

I posted earlier about not being able to control my bladder today, but was wondering how I would know for sure if it is actually just wee or my waters that are leaking.
I've just been to the loo and checked my pad and it's a sort of pinky colour, rather than the yellowy you'd expect. Dont have a uti. Urine was dipped yesterday at mw app and also had a sample sent off a week ago with nothing unudual detected. Can't smell it coz the tena pads I'm using are odor neutralising so it smells of nothing.
Any idea?

happygojo Thu 25-Jun-15 15:23:40

I have no experience of this, but if you have a maternity pad, I would stick that on (maternity pads don't effect the colour or odour meaning things can be detected). Have you eaten a lot a beetroot? As always, if in doubt, get checked out. But if you have a maternity pad to hand I would put it on so that a MW can have a look (grim i know!)

Ficidy Thu 25-Jun-15 15:25:16

If it was your waters, there would be a constant leak, not just every once in a while. I've had issues with bladder control on this pregnancy, so you have my sympathies. How many weeks are you?

RockerMummy184 Thu 25-Jun-15 15:26:30

I don't have a maternity pad and haven't eaten beetroot in about 3 years.
I'm sure it's nothing and I'm just getting myself worked up. I can't get an app to see my mw again for 5 weeks so hoping it'll stop soon so I don't need to worry.

booksandchoc Thu 25-Jun-15 15:26:53

When my waters started leaking it's had quite a sticky thick viscosity and smelled really sweet. But if in doubt, get it checked. Your maternity unit can do a really quick swab and check if it is amniotic fluid.

RockerMummy184 Thu 25-Jun-15 15:27:32