Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Any teachers with toddler and pregnant?

(7 Posts)
Marsaday Sun 31-May-15 18:30:39

Hi ladies, I got my Bfp for dc#2 last week. DS1 is currently 16 months and a miniature human tornado. I am a secondary teacher.
When I was pregnant with ds1 i remember being utterly exhausted for the first 12 weeks, and again in the last 12. I used to at school until 7pm to clear all work then come home, eat and go straight to bed. I won't be able to do that now though, as i have to leave work to pick up ds, and then do dinner, bath, bed. That means most nights i am planning and marking from 8.30 until 10.30pm, sometimes 11.
Does anyone have any tips for how to deal with pregnancy tiredness with the relentlessness of teaching once you have a toddler??

Jellybean2011 Sun 31-May-15 19:03:06

All I can say is I feel your pain! I'm a primary school teacher and will officially be on maternity leave as of tomorrow (37 weeks). I have a four year old and have been fluctuating between mummy guilt- that I don't spend enough time with my own son because of not getting home until after 7 and teacher guilt- because I've been so tired, sick and run down. I don't have any tips because I have struggled through this pregnancy and really don't know how I can go back to full time teaching with 2 young children!! X

Roseybee10 Sun 31-May-15 19:05:21

I was soooo tired second time around between work and my dd1. It was exhausting. With my first I used to leave school at 3 then sleep til 7 and then work til 10 but of course I couldn't do that second time.
I am dreading going back to work and trying to balance the paperwork with two kids argh x

turdfairynomore Sun 31-May-15 19:27:01