Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

worried about getting the blues on maternity leave

(13 Posts)
weeza13 Sat 12-Apr-14 15:22:26

This may sound moany but I work in a school so am currently on easter break. I am 25 weeks and dh is away with work. I have done all the sorting I can at home for the moment but find myself feeling very isolated and bored by myself, its making me worry about how I will feel when I am actually on maternity leave. I do not have friends near me with bumps or babies and as lovely as my friends are they have all done their baby bits years ago. Any ideas ?

squizita Sat 12-Apr-14 15:30:51

Maybe use some time now to call round local community centres etc and find when their mum and baby coffee mornings/clubs run? That way you've got some places ready to go to when you feel ready. I joined NCT for pretty much that reason. Also local churches ( many have non religious mum and baby things).

That way you know its there if you need it but if you're too knackered, there's no pressure to attend.

johull Sat 12-Apr-14 15:31:47

I'm teacher also pregnant (first DD 28wks) and also married to a teacher which means we are off at the same time. 1. Things I would do if I was in my own:
2. Get baby room done and ready
3. Go round town
4. Book a spa for a day- they're a lot cheaper in the week-- I'm actually doing this on Tuesday but with hubby
5. Go swimming or to the gym
6. Go visit a friend and stay 1 night in a hotel
7. See family
8. Join NCT ASAP- once baby is here you'll then have other mummy friends in your local area
9. Go to pregnancy (daytime) yoga, you might meet people there you can have a coffee with?
10. I'm in surrey and will be happy to meet if you want a coffee and a chat :-)
Once baby is here, you'll be so busy you won't have time to be down x

EveryDaysAnAdventure Sat 12-Apr-14 15:33:17

Hi Weeza,