Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Trying to ask a scientific question about missed miscarriage...

(24 Posts)
ohthegoats Fri 14-Mar-14 18:24:55

... I don't want this to be an insensitive post, but it has the potential to offend or upset someone, so I apologise in advance.

Two relatives and a friend have had missed miscarriages in the last year, discovered at the 12 week scan. Now that I'm pregnant, it's been one of my main concerns, just because for ME, it seems to be pretty common. Before I was pregnant I always assumed miscarriages involved blood, and were really obvious. That would make sense to me. But I'm a scientist, and I get cross about unexplained 'things', even if sometimes I should just accept it as a fact.

I've been thinking about missed miscarriage quite a bit, and I am really struggling to get my head around how traitorous it makes 'our' bodies. How massively unfair it seems to make a person sick etc for weeks for no reason. I mean, what is the evolutionary reason for us to hang on to non viable pregnancies? Especially for up to 6 or 7 weeks? And especially if they are involving us being not very useful to a tribe (I'm thinking back to the stone age now!), because we're ill, or allowing us to remain essentially infertile for longer when we 'should' be breeding as much as possible?

Has anyone ever read anything that would help explain? Or is it another one of those things that I have to deal with as 'just happens'?

I don't know the answer but I think it's a good question. (And I don't think it's offensive to ask!)

Luckystar1 Fri 14-Mar-14 18:46:27

Good question, I thought about this to a degree (not quite so in depth!) after mine.