Would you like to be on Mumsnet's research panel? We're especially keen for parents-to-be and new parents to join. You can sign up here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive on offer for your views.

Lower heart rate = boy??

(17 Posts)
littleraysofsunshine Sun 19-Jan-14 22:18:04

I've had two girls and their heart rates were always about 143-150? This little one is always about 120-137. I'm 39weeks

SaucyJack Sun 19-Jan-14 22:54:46

I dunno if it's an old wives' tale, but I have heard that boys' HBs sound like trains and girls' Hbs sound like galloping horses and it's always been true for me.

Writerwannabe83 Sun 19-Jan-14 23:18:52

My boy's heart rate is always between 140-150 and it sounds like galloping hooves.

I guess I'm not very good at supporting the Old Wives Tales - not that I believe in them at all anyway grin

loopylouu Mon 20-Jan-14 13:07:25

My girl (we've had two scans at two different places saying girl!) has a 130 heart rate and it sounds like a train!

ChicaMomma Mon 20-Jan-14 14:26:44

My gynae swears blind there is no way of telling and that it's a 50/50 chance at best. My GP agrees. So i dont know! Mine is around 160 but i'm hoping for a boy so want to believe it's an old wives tale!!

StarsInTheNightSky Mon 20-Jan-14 15:02:45

My boy's heart rate is always between 140 and 145 and I think it sounds like galloping hooves whereas DH thinks it sounds like a train on tracks, so I guess there's no real way of telling.

The only old wives tales re gender that I found to be accurate where the bicarb of soda test and the red cabbage test! Both said boy. They were great fun to do as entertainment in the 1st tri too grin

Pinkbell123 Mon 20-Jan-14 15:04:26

Mine's heart rate was around 160 so pretty fast and he's a boy.

PenguinsDontEatKale Mon 20-Jan-14 15:05:42

In the Ostler book Expecting Better she looked at this and concluded, based on the studies, that it was bullshit. Though she used more polite language grin