Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Pregnant and just been offered an interview for a new job. What would you do?

(28 Posts)
AmelieRose Tue 22-Oct-13 18:25:50

DH and I have been trying to conceive for 10 months since a miscarriage late last year. I decided in the interim period I should stop putting off applying for the next level of promotion as I didn't know how long it would take to conceive (I am a teacher).

I applied for a job I really like the sound of, and had heard nothing within a month of the closing date, so assumed I'd been unsuccessful. Found out I was pregnant a week and a half ago (7 weeks on Thursday) and found out yesterday I have an interview for the job.

I asked my head teacher's advice, and he said he thinks I should go for it anyway and see how I get on without revealing my up-the-duff status; my first instinct was to withdraw.

Any wise words?

Lottiedoubtie Tue 22-Oct-13 18:30:11

Your HT is right.

Go for it. Decide if you like the school, if it seems like the right job for you.

And if it is and they offer, they will have to wait for you. Although be careful with your finances- a new job may mean less entitlement to maternity pay straight away.

hettienne Tue 22-Oct-13 18:36:58

Go for it, see what happens. If you are offered the job then tell them you are pregnant and work out the details then.

HandragsAndGladbags Tue 22-Oct-13 18:38:41

Go for it! You will have enough time to get into the job, and think you should listen to your head.

HandragsAndGladbags Tue 22-Oct-13 18:39:04

Head that should be as in HT not anatomy smile

Fasterkillpussycat Tue 22-Oct-13 18:40:22